Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Green Rated Buildings



​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Green Star SA rating tools look at a number of categories to assess the environmental impact of a project’s site selection, design and construction. Points are awarded for each of the following:
  1. ​Management
  2. Indoor Environment Quality (IEQ)    
  3. Energy
  4. Transport
  5. Water
  6. Materials​​
  7. Land Use & Ecology
  8. Emissions
  9. Innovation
  10. Additional available category: Socio-Economic (SEC)
Design certification is awarded at the end of the design phase of a project. When construction is complete, the project can be submitted for As Built certification, which verifies the procurement and implementation of green building strategies.

The Green Star SA – Existing Building Performance Tool covers the same environmental categories addressed in the Green Star SA new building tools (Design / As Built). It also focuses on the efficient operations and management of the building that affects optimal performance. 

The rating is valid for a period of 3 years in order to ensure the building is continually well operated and maintained. Items such as energy and water monitoring, management policies and plans are required in order to achieve the rating.​